Ectoin Panthenol Sunscreen: Where the Calming Evidence Comes From
This one begins on an ingredient database page rather than in a lab. The INCIDecoder entry for panthenol says the ingredient “can reduce the irritation caused by less-nice other ingredients (e.g. fragrance, preservatives or chemical sunscreens)”[1]. Chemical sunscreens, named directly. Read that sentence once and you can see where the shopping advice comes from: put a calming ingredient in a sunscreen, and the sunscreen stops bothering your skin.
So we went looking for the study where that happens. We found something else. A set of papers whose authors each printed, in their own words, that they couldn’t tell you which ingredient in the bottle did what.
The short version: ectoin and panthenol have a real research trail, and almost none of it was collected inside a sunscreen. The one test we found that put panthenol in a sunscreen and compared it against the same formula without it was auditing SPF, and it did not pick up an anti-inflammatory effect over 48 hours[3]. Where these two beat something in a head-to-head trial, the creams were 5% and 7% and the skin had already been burned by radiotherapy[6]. Expect the calming list to explain why a sunscreen feels pleasant on you. It isn’t evidence that the sunscreen itself was made gentler.
Can an ectoin panthenol sunscreen calm my skin?
It can plausibly feel more comfortable, and that’s worth paying for. What we could not find in any paper we opened is a test of the stronger claim: that a calming ingredient inside a sunscreen offsets irritation the sunscreen itself causes.
Both ingredients need a plain definition first, because the names do a lot of work on packaging.
Panthenol is provitamin B5. The Ph. Eur. name for it is dexpanthenol, which is why the two words turn up on labels and in papers as if they were different ingredients[1]. Ectoin is a substance that certain microbes make to survive salt and heat. The 2022 trial we read below introduces it as “(S)-2-methyl-1,4,5,6-tetrahydropyrimidine-4-carboxylic acid, is an innovative multifunctional natural active osmolyte substance”[4]. An osmolyte is a molecule that holds water around other molecules, which is a hydration mechanism before it’s anything else.
The sentence on an ingredient page that started this
Ingredient databases carry two different kinds of information about the same ingredient, and they’re easy to blur together.
| Ingredient | INCIDecoder “what-it-does” labels | Official CosIng function |
|---|---|---|
| Panthenol | Soothing, moisturizer/humectant[1] | “antistatic, hair conditioning, skin conditioning”[1] |
| Ectoin | Antioxidant, soothing, moisturizer/humectant[2] | “skin conditioning”[2] |
The two columns answer different questions, and neither is a trial result. A function label is a description of what an ingredient is said to do. The regulatory designation is narrower on purpose, because it records the role an ingredient plays in a formula rather than an outcome on your face. Reading either column as proof of an effect is where this topic goes wrong.
INCIDecoder is generous about ectoin, calling it “a surprisingly well-researched, multi-functional active that can do from pollution & light protection to skin hydration, soothing, and barrier repair”[2]. Well-researched is fair. Where the research happened is the part that matters here.
A 2017 lab was checking whether panthenol was cheating the SPF test
An SPF number comes from a test on human skin, and what that test measures is redness: “the measured SPF biological end point is the visible skin erythema”[3]. The protocol named in the paper is EN ISO 24444:2010. That detail is the reason somebody eventually isolated panthenol inside a sunscreen and looked hard at what it did.
A formula containing an anti-redness ingredient creates an obvious problem for a test like that. If the ingredient quiets redness, the test could read a higher SPF than the filters earned. The authors put the worry in one line: many products on the market “have antiphlogistic ingredients, which may potentially result in an overestimated SPF of the sunscreen”[3]. Antiphlogistic just means anti-inflammatory.
So they made formulas at different concentrations of panthenol or bisabolol, plus a base formula with neither, and ran the in vivo SPF test on all of them. Two findings came out, and they point in opposite directions for a shopper.
- Good news about your SPF number. The conclusion is that these ingredients “do not interfere with erythema reddening and thus do not affect the SPF value in vivo”[3]. The panthenol isn’t inflating the figure on the bottle. That fits what we found looking at ingredients sold as SPF boosters, where the SPF figure turns out to be a tested value rather than something a formula can talk its way into.
- Less good news about the calming claim. There was “no statistically significant difference in the erythemal response between the vehicle (without an antiphlogistic active ingredient) and the test formulations with different concentrations of the antiphlogistic active ingredients”[3]. And separately: “Evidence of anti-inflammatory activity of the sunscreen antiphlogistics bisabolol and panthenol was also not apparent in the UV model over a time course of 48 h”[3].
Three limits belong on that second bullet before you carry it anywhere. Not detected isn’t the same as not there, and a single formula tested over 48 hours can’t speak for every product or every timescale. The abstract doesn’t print the concentrations used or the number of subjects, and we read the abstract rather than the full paper, which is paywalled[3]. And the study was designed as an audit of the SPF method, so the calming question is a by-product of it rather than its target. That’s exactly why it’s useful, though: nobody set it up hoping panthenol would fail.
None of the in-sunscreen studies could separate the ingredient from the filters
Four papers stand behind the calming claim once it reaches sunscreen. Three of them tested one of these ingredients inside a sunscreen or a filter blend on people, and the fourth is the cell-culture study that the 2022 trial reaches back to when it introduces ectoin. All four disclose industry money, and we’re reporting that the same way for each of them rather than only for the ones we happen to disagree with.
Ectoin in a sunscreen, 2022. Fifteen subjects with polymorphic light eruption used a sunscreen containing “octocrylene 8%, titanium dioxide 5%, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane 3.6%, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine 3%” and “1% of ectoin”[4]. The authors wrote the limitation themselves: “The weakness of this study is that this design does not allow the estimation of the relative contribution of ectoin versus UV filters in the prevention of PLE induced by UVA”[4]. Funding and staffing sit in the same paper: “Sponsorship for this study and the journal’s Rapid Service Fee was provided by ISDIN SA (Barcelona, Spain)”, with three authors listed as ISDIN employees, one employed by ISDIN while designing and running the study, and two paid consultants[4]. We have quoted this paper before, in our guide to sun allergy and PMLE, and we would rather tell you that. That guide handles the trial in full, so this page isn’t going to re-run it.
Panthenol in a sunscreen, 2024. Fourteen subjects used a “panthenol and nicotinamide-containing broad-spectrum sunscreen (SSNP) with a nicotinamide concentration of 2%” on photodamaged forearm skin for four weeks[5]. One number is missing there: nicotinamide gets a percentage and panthenol doesn’t. The authors name the design gap first among their limitations: “The primary limitation of this work is the absence of a vehicle arm to compare the effects of the niacinamide-containing sunscreen with a sunscreen formulation lacking niacinamide”[5]. Their imaging arm came back flat too. The paired analysis found no statistically significant differences before and after treatment[5]. Funding: “L’Oréal/La Roche-Posay funded the study, publication cost and the journal’s Rapid Service Fee”[5].
Ectoine with filters, 2024. Ten subjects, and the tested item is ectoine combined with mannitol, with and without SPF 30 filters, so once again the ingredient isn’t alone[7]. The authors are with the research and development department of the NAOS Group[7].
The 2004 cell-culture paper everyone is quoting downstream. The claim that ectoin protects against UVA damage traces back to a study run in cell cultures, and its authors give their affiliation as “Merck KGaA, Pigments Cosmetics Actives, Business Unit Cosmetics, Research and Development”[8]. That is the company selling the ingredient. The paper says the results “clearly demonstrate that Ectoin counteracts the effects of UVA-induced and accelerated skin aging at different cell levels”[8]. Those results came from cells in a dish rather than from skin on a person. The 2022 sunscreen trial reaches back to that lineage when it introduces ectoin as having “shown protection in humans against UV-induced Langerhans cell depletion and sunburn cell formation”[4], but that sentence is the authors framing their ingredient from earlier literature we did not open, so we are showing it to you as their framing and not as a finding of theirs.
None of this means the ingredients are inert, and we’re not going to invent a result the papers themselves declined to claim. It means the studies run inside sunscreens keep arriving with the attribution question already conceded by the people who ran them.
The doses that beat something were five to seven percent
One trial puts these two ingredients directly against each other, and it has the strongest design in this pile. It also has nothing to do with sunscreen.
Fifty breast cancer patients receiving radiotherapy were randomized in a double-blind study: “dexpanthenol 5% cream (25 patients), or ectoin 7% cream (25 patients), applied twice daily to the irradiated area during and for 2 weeks after radiotherapy”[6]. Results: “Both agents were effective in preventing severe radiodermatitis”[6], and ectoin came out ahead, with “a lower radiodermatitis grade level than dexpanthenol, with a significant difference at week 2 (P = 0.008)”, plus lower pain and itching scores[6]. This is a treatment study in cancer patients under radiotherapy, so it isn’t a claim about anybody’s morning routine, and none of it transfers to a sunscreen by itself.
What it does give you is a sense of scale. The figures that actually get printed on things sit well below it.
| Where the number appears | The number |
|---|---|
| Ectoin cream vs dexpanthenol cream, radiodermatitis trial[6] | 7% and 5% |
| Vehicle-controlled ectoin study in 104 women[9] | 2% |
| Ectoin concentrations declared to INCIDecoder[2] | 0.5%, 2.0%, 5.0%, and separately listed products at 7% |
| Panthenol concentrations declared to INCIDecoder[1] | 3.0% up to 30.0% |
| The one sunscreen in this article with a printed ectoin figure[4] | 1% |
Every declared figure above 2% belongs to a cream, a booster, an ampoule, or a dermatitis product. The sunscreen is the last row.
Round Lab Baby Mild Sunscreen is a Korean sunscreen carrying both ingredients, and we have cited it before in our guide to sunscreen for eczema-prone skin. Reading its list on INCIDecoder, panthenol is at position 15 and ectoin at position 37 out of 42 ingredients, with zinc oxide as the only UV filter and no percentage or ppm figure anywhere[10]. Then there is Abib Ectoin Panthenol 11% Moisturizer, which prints a number right in the product name. The ingredient page does not say what the 11% applies to, and panthenol is second on the list while ectoin is eleventh[11]. Also worth noticing: that one is a moisturizer.
Why a label can withhold the number at all is a separate rule, and we went through it properly in our piece on sunscreens that sell you niacinamide. Short version, ingredient order stops tracking amount below 1%, and nothing obliges a brand to print a percentage.
Do I still want these in my sunscreen?
Yes, for the reason that survives all of the above: both are humectants, which means they pull water into skin and hold it there, and comfort is a real reason people keep using a sunscreen instead of skipping it.
- Comfort and hydration are the part that shows up fast, and the part you can judge for yourself inside a week.
- A calming list is not the lever for a sunscreen that stings you or breaks you out. Our walk-through of what a sunscreen breakout usually means puts soothing where it belongs, which is a separate step after you pause the product.
- It also isn’t a reason to rank one sunscreen above another on protection. Only the filters carry a number somebody measured on skin.
One clarification about our own pages, because this article tightens a standard. Our roundup for sensitive and acne-prone skin describes several of these formulas as comfortable and non-stinging. It’s a different kind of evidence from a clinical endpoint, and both are worth having, as long as nobody swaps one for the other.
None of this is medical advice. If your skin is reacting to something you’re putting on it, reading the ingredient list won’t settle it and a dermatologist can.
FAQ
Does ectoin in my sunscreen actually reduce irritation?
No paper we opened tested that. The one human trial of ectoin inside a sunscreen used a formula with 1% ectoin plus four UV filters, and its authors wrote that the design “does not allow the estimation of the relative contribution of ectoin versus UV filters”. So there’s no isolated result to point at, in either direction.
Is the SPF on a panthenol sunscreen trustworthy, or is the panthenol hiding redness?
Trustworthy, on the evidence we found. Because an SPF test measures visible redness, a lab checked whether anti-inflammatory ingredients could inflate the score. The conclusion was that panthenol and bisabolol “do not interfere with erythema reddening and thus do not affect the SPF value in vivo”. Your number reflects the filters.
How much ectoin or panthenol should I be looking for on a label?
You usually can’t find out. The trials that showed something used 7% ectoin and 5% dexpanthenol on radiotherapy-damaged skin, and 2% ectoin in a vehicle-controlled study of 104 women. Sunscreen labels rarely print a percentage for either one, and below 1% the ingredient order stops telling you about amount.
Am I better off buying a separate ectoin cream than a sunscreen with it in?
If the concentration is what you’re after, that’s where the declared numbers are: the 5% and 7% products are creams and boosters rather than sunscreens. We can’t tell you a cream will calm your skin either, but at least you can read what you’re getting.
I keep reading that ectoin is strongly anti-inflammatory. Where does that come from?
A good deal of it traces to a 2004 study in cell cultures, written by authors at Merck KGaA’s cosmetics ingredient division, which is the company that supplies ectoin. That work reported effects at the cell level. Effects at the cell level are a reason to run human trials, not a substitute for them.
Sources
Ingredient databases (read by eye rather than by search, on 2026-07-30):
[1] Panthenol, INCIDecoder ingredient entry. “What-it-does” labels recorded as soothing and moisturizer/humectant; official CosIng function given as “antistatic, hair conditioning, skin conditioning”; page states panthenol “can reduce the irritation caused by less-nice other ingredients (e.g. fragrance, preservatives or chemical sunscreens)” and gives dexpanthenol as the Ph. Eur. name; declared product concentrations on the page run from 3.0% to 30.0%, the highest being COSRX B5 D-Panthenol Ampoule at 30.0%: link
[2] Ectoin, INCIDecoder ingredient entry. “What-it-does” labels recorded as antioxidant, soothing and moisturizer/humectant; official CosIng function given as “skin conditioning”; described as “a surprisingly well-researched, multi-functional active that can do from pollution & light protection to skin hydration, soothing, and barrier repair”; products with declared concentrations listed as 5.0% (Boots Dermacare Psoriasis Treatment Cream), 2.0% (Sanshi The Repair Lotion) and 0.5% (Spring Letter Tranexamic Acid Essence), with further products listed by name at 7% including E45 Dermatitis Cream and Paula’s Choice 7% Ectoin Booster: link
The SPF-method study (abstract only, full text paywalled):
[3] Werner M, Herling M, Garbe B, Theek C, Tronnier H, Heinrich U, Braun N. “Determination of the Influence of the Antiphlogistic Ingredients Panthenol and Bisabolol on the SPF Value in vivo.” Skin Pharmacol Physiol. 2017;30(6):284-291. PMID 28972949. Authors listed at DermaTronnier GmbH and Co. KG, Institute for Experimental Dermatology, Witten/Herdecke University. We read the published abstract and were not able to read the full text, which is behind a paywall, so the concentrations tested and the number of subjects are not reported here because the abstract does not give them. Quoted from the abstract: “the sun protection factor (SPF) value of sunscreen products is determined in vivo with a standardized protocol (EN ISO 24444:2010), and the measured SPF biological end point is the visible skin erythema”; products on the market “have antiphlogistic ingredients, which may potentially result in an overestimated SPF of the sunscreen”; “there was also no statistically significant difference in the erythemal response between the vehicle (without an antiphlogistic active ingredient) and the test formulations with different concentrations of the antiphlogistic active ingredients”; “Evidence of anti-inflammatory activity of the sunscreen antiphlogistics bisabolol and panthenol was also not apparent in the UV model over a time course of 48 h”; “The antiphlogistic ingredients panthenol and bisabolol incorporated in the tested sunscreen formula do not interfere with erythema reddening and thus do not affect the SPF value in vivo.” link
Studies of these ingredients inside a sunscreen or filter blend:
[4] Duteil L, Queille-Roussel C, Aladren S, Bustos X, Trullas C, Granger C, Krutmann J, Passeron T. “Prevention of Polymorphic Light Eruption Afforded by a Very High Broad-Spectrum Protection Sunscreen Containing Ectoin.” Dermatol Ther (Heidelb). 2022 Jul;12(7):1603-1613. PMID 35716331, PMCID PMC9276854. Open access and read in full on 2026-07-30. This is the same paper we quoted first in our sun allergy guide, and it was reopened and re-checked for this article rather than copied across. Quoted from the paper: “Ectoin, (S)-2-methyl-1,4,5,6-tetrahydropyrimidine-4-carboxylic acid, is an innovative multifunctional natural active osmolyte substance that has shown protection in humans against UV-induced Langerhans cell depletion and sunburn cell formation” (an introductory sentence the paper attributes to earlier literature that we did not open, which is why this article presents it as the authors’ framing); “It contains a combination of UVA and UVB filters (octocrylene 8%, titanium dioxide 5%, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane 3.6%, bis-ethylhexyloxyphenol methoxyphenyl triazine 3%) and 1% of ectoin”; “The weakness of this study is that this design does not allow the estimation of the relative contribution of ectoin versus UV filters in the prevention of PLE induced by UVA”; “Sponsorship for this study and the journal’s Rapid Service Fee was provided by ISDIN SA (Barcelona, Spain)”; and the disclosure “Sonia Aladren, Xavier Bustos and Carles Turllas are ISDIN’s employees, Corinne Granger was employed by ISDIN when designing, running the clinical study and analysing the data. Jean Krutmann and Thierry Passeron are paid consultants by ISDIN.” The disclosure prints one surname as “Turllas” where the author list prints “Trullas”, and it is reproduced here as printed. Fifteen subjects took part. link
[5] Torres-Moral T, Tell-Martí G, Bague J, et al. “Evaluation of the Biological Effect of a Nicotinamide-Containing Broad-Spectrum Sunscreen on Photodamaged Skin.” Dermatol Ther (Heidelb). 2024 Dec;14(12):3321-3336. PMID 39509031, PMCID PMC11604901. Open access and read in full. Fourteen subjects, four weeks. Quoted from the paper: the product is a “panthenol and nicotinamide-containing broad-spectrum sunscreen (SSNP) with a nicotinamide concentration of 2%”, and no concentration is given anywhere for panthenol; “The primary limitation of this work is the absence of a vehicle arm to compare the effects of the niacinamide-containing sunscreen with a sunscreen formulation lacking niacinamide”; “The paired analysis of LC-OCT on L02 which was imaged before and after treatment in order to identify any possible effect did not show statistically significant differences”; “L’Oréal/La Roche-Posay funded the study, publication cost and the journal’s Rapid Service Fee.” link
[7] Fontbonne A, Teme B, Abric E, et al. “Positive and ecobiological contribution in skin photoprotection of ectoine and mannitol combined in vivo with UV filters.” J Cosmet Dermatol. 2024 Jan;23(1):308-315. PMID 37539499. Abstract read; full text not opened. The tested item is an ectoine and mannitol association, assessed with and without SPF 30 UV filters, in vivo in 10 subjects. Authors give their affiliation as the Research and Development Department, NAOS Group, and the NAOS Institute of Life Science. link
[8] Buenger J, Driller H. “Ectoin: an effective natural substance to prevent UVA-induced premature photoaging.” Skin Pharmacol Physiol. 2004 Sep-Oct;17(5):232-7. PMID 15452409. Abstract read; full text not opened. Author affiliation given as “Merck KGaA, Pigments Cosmetics Actives, Business Unit Cosmetics, Research and Development, Darmstadt, Germany”. The work was carried out “Using cell cultures, high-performance thin-layer chromatography, gel electrophoresis mobility shift assays, reverse transcriptase polymerase chain reaction, ion exchange chromatography and UV spectroscopy”, and the abstract states “The results obtained clearly demonstrate that Ectoin counteracts the effects of UVA-induced and accelerated skin aging at different cell levels.” link
Studies of these ingredients on their own, outside a sunscreen:
[6] Abd Elazim NE, Awad SM, El-Naggar MS, Mohamed RH. “Topical Ectoin Versus Topical Dexpanthenol for Managing Acute Radiodermatitis Associated With Breast Cancer Radiotherapy: A Randomized Double-Blind Study.” Dermatitis. 2023 Nov-Dec;34(6):516-524. PMID 37792331. Abstract read; full text not opened. Authors at Assiut University Hospital, Egypt, with no industry affiliation given in the abstract. Quoted: “Fifty patients randomly used dexpanthenol 5% cream (25 patients), or ectoin 7% cream (25 patients), applied twice daily to the irradiated area during and for 2 weeks after radiotherapy”; “Both agents were effective in preventing severe radiodermatitis”; “Ectoin had a lower radiodermatitis grade level than dexpanthenol, with a significant difference at week 2 (P = 0.008)”; “Radiation-associated pain (P = 0.003) and itching (P = 0.001) were lower with ectoin than dexpanthenol.” This is a treatment study in patients undergoing radiotherapy and is cited here only for the concentrations and the design, not as guidance for anyone choosing a sunscreen. link
[9] Heinrich U, Garbe B, Tronnier H. “In vivo assessment of Ectoin: a randomized, vehicle-controlled clinical trial.” Skin Pharmacol Physiol. 2007;20(4):211-8. PMID 17519560. Abstract read; full text not opened. Described as a “monocentric, randomized, double-blind application test” with “A total of 104 voluntary healthy female test subjects”, comparing “treatment A (vehicle) and treatment B (with 2% Ectoin) versus an untreated control”. The reported outcome is a preference measure and this article does not present it as more than that: “Statistical evaluations according to the Wilcoxon rank-sum test indicate a general preference for the Ectoin treatment by the test subjects in both the application and the efficacy tests.” link
Product ingredient lists (positions counted by hand from the ingredient anchors on 2026-07-30):
[10] ROUND LAB Baby Mild Sunscreen SPF50+ Broad Spectrum, INCIDecoder. 42 ingredients; panthenol at position 15; ectoin at position 37; zinc oxide the only UV filter; no percentage or ppm figure printed for any ingredient; page carries an “Alcohol Free” flag, which records that the flag is present and nothing beyond that: link
[11] Abib Ectoin Panthenol 11% Moisturizer, INCIDecoder. Panthenol second; ectoin eleventh; the page gives no percentage for any individual ingredient and does not state what the 11% in the product name refers to: link
How we checked for absence:
[12] PubMed E-utilities esearch, run 2026-07-30. Field-limited counts: ectoin[tiab] 44; ectoine[tiab] 863; panthenol[tiab] 269; dexpanthenol[tiab] 321; ectoin[tiab] AND sunscreen[tiab] 3; ectoine[tiab] AND sunscreen[tiab] 2; panthenol[tiab] AND sunscreen[tiab] 3; dexpanthenol[tiab] AND sunscreen[tiab] 2. Two things worth recording about the method. Searching ectoin or ectoine without a field tag returns 922 for both, because PubMed maps them onto one supplementary concept, so the spelling difference only becomes visible with a field tag. And a quoted string is not a phrase search here: “ectoin sunscreen” returns 8, and its querytranslation expands to two groups joined by AND rather than a phrase. The counts above are the field-limited ones for that reason. Papers whose abstracts do not use these words would not appear, so the absences described in this article are limited to what these searches and the papers we opened contain: link
Topics: Clinical Evidence · Niacinamide · Sensitive Skin · All topics